Opportunity vs. Idealism

Last friday, I quit my current part-time job where I have been working for the last year and a month. Why did I do it?, some people ask.
Well, it certainly was a hard decision. They actually allowed me to be a full-time employee and also go on with my masters education at Sabancı University(SU). (..and, it is probably one of the best companies to work for in Turkey)

Hmm, quick reality check.. It wasn’t really possible for me to do both of these things at the same time since SU’s education system is much more scattered into daily life; and not just like "it doesn’t matter if you go into classes or not, just go into an exam at the end of the semester and pass it". Even if I were able to cope with that, I don’t think having that education in such a way would have helped me much. (And I am not even talking about the social side of things)

Aside from that, I was accepted to SU with the highest scholarship available which covers education and dormitory fees, and gives a monthly stipend which covers living costs + some extra. Pretty good, huh? Well, you cannot work full-time at the same time you are receiving a stipend. Hence; that leaves us with the same state of things; go to university and work part-time along with it.

Or…

Follow your heart and your dreams. Abandon great opportunities and just go where idealism takes you.
I’ve been accepted to the Information and Communication Systems Security program of the KTH Royal Institute of Technology in Sweden. It is in Stockholm, the capital of Scandinavia 🙂 [well, at least the Swedes call it that 🙂 ] And I have decided to go there even if that means being negative on the financial side; contrary to a pretty positive one here. The worst that could happen is that I could lose 2 years(depending on how you see the matter obviously) there and come back here to receive exactly the same(or with very little difference) job offer I could have landed right now.

However, I do not think it will come to that. My faith is that it will be for the better. I actually think that I might live abroad for a while. Better working conditions(specifically: no overtime!, ok I might still work extra, but that counts for my own personal development, and/or my own extra project), better pay, more workplaces with more diversity of fields to choose from.. What more do you want? (OK, truth be told, the prices are also 1.5 times higher there compared to Turkey)

My teammates were sad to see me go; however they actually supported me on my journey; most of them told me to not stay; when I asked them for advice and guidance. (I am the youngest person in the team and also probably in the whole company)

In the end, it is about making a choice and having faith that you have made the right choice; and I have that faith right now.

I actually desire to have my own firm some day.. But until then, it is best to accumulate some money and practical experience.

Right now, I have some problems with accomodation around Kista in Stockholm, however these are solvable problems. And if I could also find a part-time job somewhere there; it would be awesome. I have some pretty good recommendations 🙂

To sum up: Idealism wins! 🙂

2 Comments

  1. August 2, 2009 at 3:39 pm

    iyi şanslar Ozan, başarılarını takip edeceğiz inşallah 🙂

  2. Ozan Safi said,

    August 3, 2009 at 12:07 am

    teşekkürler Tonguç abi; inşallah gurur verici birşeyler yapabilirim 😉


Leave a Reply

